Making up ain’t hard to do

1930's Maybelline Ads 009

Look, she has eyes like mine!

When people meet me they usually notice a few things first: my hair, my cleavage, and my eyes (not necessarily in that order). The hair stands out because it’s long, and because most of the gals here in Oregon don’t have big hair or use hairspray. I’ve spent years developing my signature do and if my stylist quits or we experience a worldwide shortage of TRESemmé Two Extra Hold spray, well, there’s gonna some crying going on.

The cleavage came with the package, but I’m a firm believer in making the most of what life gives you (and in low-cut tops). My eyes, however, are quite another story–my eyelashes are virtually clear, and without at least some mascara it’s not a pretty picture. Suffice it to say that Maybelline, Revlon, L’Oreal and I are very good friends.

I hate to admit it, but I’ve been wearing makeup for about 40 years. Yeah…you read that right…it took me a second to let that little fact sink in too. That’s a LOT of time spent in front of a very small mirror, not to mention the amount of dollars spent. In retrospect, I’d have to say that it was worth it as, not only have I become an ace maker-upper, but eye shadow, liner and mascara have served as pretty decent protection from the rest of the world. Whenever my self-confidence is lagging, a little extra cosmetic armor goes a long way in boosting my self-esteem and general mental health. I used to worry that my love (ahem…need) for eye liner was a crutch, but I’ve decided that it’s a vice I can live with.

Warpaint for all ages!

Warpaint for all ages!

Recently though, my cosmetic addiction seems to have taken a somewhat evangelical bent, and I decided to buy a makeup kit for a friend’s four-year-old daughter at Christmas. I just couldn’t resist the small pink case with a lighted mirror and clasps that close with a solid click. It holds lots of creams, little girl lipsticks, nail polish, eye shadows and such and I would have adored it myself as a little girl. I figure that I’m either gonna go down in history as the best Auntie ever…or as the devil (if she decides to mark up the walls). Either way, it made me giggle to be the one to get her started on the Maybelline path!

I can hear my little friend, 20 years from now, asking her mama, “Hey, do you remember that little pink makeup kit I had…the one I carried around with me? Do you remember who gave that to me?”

“Oh honey,” my friend will say, “that was your shallow Aunt Tammy…she couldn’t help herself.”

One response to “Making up ain’t hard to do

  1. Pingback: Oh Sealy Posturepedic, I wish I knew how to quit you… | FUNNY...PECULIAR

Leave a Reply

